Hilary 2022 Term Card

Another year, another term, another COVID variant. As omicron drives case numbers to new heights and we all continue to try to stay away from one another as much as possible, we hope you’ll join us (virtually) in Oxford this Hilary Term to learn more about the latest research into the history of the United States from the Revolution to the Civil War, and to talk with our expert speakers and audience members about key topics like race, gender, citizenship, violence, and diplomacy. Here’s this term’s lineup:

Week 2: Wednesday 26th January 2022, 4pm GMT

Anna O. Law (Brooklyn College), ‘The Roots of American Citizenship’


Week 4: Wednesday 9th February 2022, 4pm GMT

Nora Lessersohn (UCL), ‘The Sultan of New York: Armenian-American Diplomacy in the Era of the Eastern Question’


Week 6: Wednesday 23rd February 2022, 4pm GMT

Kevin Vrevich (Wesleyan), ‘United “Affrican Brethren:” Black Nationalism and Racial Solidarity in Early Republican New England’


Week 8: Wednesday 9th March 2022, 4pm GMT

Erin Shearer (Reading/Cardiff), ‘ “She took the whip frum him an’ give him a snake beatin’:” Enslaved Women, Counter-Whippings, and Revenge in the Antebellum South’


OxEARS meets every other Wednesday in term time at 4pm GMT (11am Eastern, 10am Central, 9am Mountain, 8am Pacific). The seminar is open to scholars at all institutions and career stages who are interested in U.S. history. To join our mailing list and to request copies of pre-circulated papers and Zoom links, please email Grace Mallon at grace.mallon@univ.ox.ac.uk.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s